mornin’ thoughts

My Lord – love. His forgiveness is unspeakable and his help is plenty.

He whispers to me nightly, singing peace into my heart; giving peaceful rest to the sinner. He raises up the sun with his tender hand and patiently waits for my awakening. Jesus, how do you wait for me so? I have run away from you, shameful and afraid. But I cannot avoid the silence in which you gently hide. Your soft words penetrate my heart and I am with you once again. I beg you to have mercy on me, Lord, but you already have.

So humble is the Lord, that he freely loves and lets me do the same.

“You have ravished my heart, my sister, my bride; you have ravished my heart with once glance of your eyes, with one bead of your necklace. How beautiful is your love, my sister, my bride; How much better is your love than wine, and the fragrance of your perfumes than any spice! Your lips drip honey, my bride, honey and milk are under your tongue; and the fragrance of your garments is like the fragrance of Lebanon.” Song of Songs 4:9-11

God is father. God is companion. God is lover. Lover of my soul. Lover of my humanity and my entirety. He speaks to me intimately, in ways that reveal his complete understanding of my nature. The Lord rewires my desires toward himself if only I ask first – a gentleman to even the lowliest of sinners.

Although it impossible to speak of the Lord in terms that do not fall short, how comforting it is to know that what I say pleases him. I am enough at this very moment; Oh, but how I pray God will transform my heart for his greater purpose!

 

Copyright 2016

Leave a Reply

